Statalist


[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

st: Program of the 7th German Stata Users Group Meeting


From   Ulrich Kohler <kohler@wzb.eu>
To   statalist <statalist@hsphsun2.harvard.edu>
Subject   st: Program of the 7th German Stata Users Group Meeting
Date   Tue, 26 May 2009 14:49:12 +0200

Program announcement
---------------------

The seventh German Stata Users Group meeting will be held on Friday,
June 26, 2009, in Bonn at the IZA (Institute for the Study of Labor,).
We would like to invite everybody from everywhere who is interested in
using Stata to attend this meeting. The conference language will be
English because of the international nature of the meeting and the
participation of non-German guest speakers.

The meeting will include presentations about graphs, general statistics,
programming, and data management, both by researchers and by StataCorp
staff. The meeting will also include a "wishes and grumbles" session,
during which you may air your thoughts to Stata developers. Finally,
there is (at additional cost) the option of an informal meal at a Bonn
restaurant on Friday evening.

For those traveling from abroad, it may be worth noting that Bonn is not
only the former capital of West Germany, but is also the gateway to the
Rhine gorge, which became a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2002 and which
is also known as "the Romantic Rhine" for its many castles and vineyards
("Rhine", Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia).

Details about accommodations and fees are given below the program. 

Program
-------

Please point your browser to
http://www.stata.com/meeting/germany09/index.html for the abstracts of
the presentations.

9:00–9:30  
Registration 

9:30–10:15 
Between tables and graphs: A tutorial
Nicholas J. Cox, n.j.cox@durham.ac.uk, Durham University

10:15–11:00
Causal inference with observational data: Regression discontinuity and
other methods in Stata 
Austin Nichols, austinnichols@gmail.com, Urban Institute, Washington DC

11:00–11:15 
Coffee 

11:15–11:45 
Computing poverty measures with survey data
Philippe Van Kerm, philippe.vankerm@ceps.lu, CEPS/INSTEAD, Luxembourg

11:45–12:15 
Using and interpreting restricted cubic splines
Maarten Buis, maarten.buis@ifsoz.uni-tuebingen.de,
Universität Tübingen, Institut für Soziologie

12:15–12:45 
Performing within and between analysis (WABA) in Stata
Sven-Oliver Spieß, mail@svenoliverspiess.net, University of Mannheim

12:45–1:45 
Lunch 

13:45–14:30 
Using Mata to work more effectively with Stata: A tutorial
Christopher F. Baum, baum@bc.edu, Boston College 

2:30–3:00 
The biplot command and software development at StataCorp
Magdalena Luniak, mluniak@cs.tu-berlin.de, TU Berlin

3:00–3:15 
Coffee 

3:15–4:00 
Reproducible research: Weaving with Stata
Bill Rising, brising@stata.com, StataCorp

4:00–4:30
Creating LaTeX documents from within Stata
Ben Jann, jannb@ethz.ch, ETH Zurich

4:30–5:00 
Using remote access to big datasets efficiently with Stata
Volker Lang, v.lang@uni-tuebingen.de, University of Tübingen

5:00–5:15 
Coffee 

5:15–6:00 
Report to users
Bill Rising, brising@stata.com, StataCorp

6:00–6:30
Wishes and grumbles


Registration and accommodations
-------------------------------

Please travel at your own expense. The conference fee includes coffee,
teas, and luncheons. There will also be an optional, informal meal at a
restaurant in Bonn on Friday evening at additional cost.

You can enroll by contacting Anke Mrosek (anke.mrosek@dpc.de) by email
or by writing, phoning, or faxing:

Anke Mrosek
Dittrich & Partner Consulting GmbH
Kieler Str. 17
42697 Solingen
Germany

Tel: +49 (0) 212 260 66 24
Fax:+49 (0) 212 260 66 66

Venue
------

IZA (Institute for the Study of Labor)
Schaumburg-Lippe-Str. 5-9
D-53113 Bonn
Germany
Tel. +49 (0)228/38940

Cost
----

€35 regular;
€15 students

Scientific organizers 
----------------------

Nikos Askitas (askitas@iza.org), Johannes Giesecke
(johannes.giesecke@wzb.eu), and Ulrich Kohler (kohler@wzb.eu) are
organizing the academic program of the meeting.

Logistics organizers 
--------------------

The logistics are being organized by Dittrich and Partner
(http://www.dpc.de), the distributor of Stata in several countries
including Germany, The Netherlands, Austria, Czech Republic, and
Hungary.


-- 
kohler@wzb.eu
030 25491-361



*
*   For searches and help try:
*   http://www.stata.com/help.cgi?search
*   http://www.stata.com/support/statalist/faq
*   http://www.ats.ucla.edu/stat/stata/



© Copyright 1996–2014 StataCorp LP   |   Terms of use   |   Privacy   |   Contact us   |   What's new   |   Site index