Search
   >> Home >> Resources & support >> Users Group meetings >> 2009 UK Stata Users Group meeting

2009 UK Stata Users Group meeting

Program announcement

London Tower Bridge
Tower Bridge (© www.FreeFoto.com)
Dates: Thursday and Friday, September 10–11, 2009
Venue: Cass Business School
106 Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TZ, UK
(just off Finsbury Square in the City of London)
Cost:
  Regular Students
Both days £75 £50
Single day £50 £35
(Paper presenters enjoy reduced rates; see the registration information below.)

The London meeting is the longest-running series of Stata user meetings. The meeting is open to all interested; in past years, participants were from Britain, Ireland, other European countries, the United States, and Australia. StataCorp will be represented.

Program

Thursday, September 10

8:45–9:25 Registration and coffee/tea
9:25–9:30
Introduction and welcome
Roger Newson, r.newson@imperial.ac.uk
Imperial College, London
Stephen Jenkins, stephenj@essex.ac.uk
University of Essex
9:30–10:00
Massimiliano Bratti, massimiliano.bratti@unimi.it
University of Milan
Alfonso Miranda, a.miranda@ioe.ac.uk
Institute of Education, University of London
10:00–10:30
Vincenzo Verardi, vverardi@ulb.ac.be
University of Brussels and University of Namur
10:30–11:00
Maarten Buis, maarten.buis@ifsoz.uni-tuebingen.de
University of Tuebingen
11:00–11:30 Coffee/tea
11:30–12:00
Nicholas J. Cox, n.j.cox@durham.ac.uk
Durham University
12:00–12:30
Chuck Huber, jchuber@tamu.edu
Texas A&M University
12:30–1:00
Adam Jacobs, ajacobs@dianthus.co.uk
Dianthus Medical Limited, London
1:00–2:00 Lunch
2:00–2:20
Martin Weiss, martin.weiss1@gmx.de
University of Tuebingen
2:20–2:40
Ian White, ian.white@mrc-bsu.cam.ac.uk
MRC Biostatistics Unit, Cambridge University
2:40–3:00
Michael Glencross, michael@case.org.za
Community Agency for Social Enquiry, Johannesburg
3:00–3:20
Rosa Gini, rosa.gini@arsanita.toscana.it
Regional Agency for Public Health of Tuscany
Sylvia Forni, silvia.forni@arsanita.toscana.it
Regional Agency for Public Health of Tuscany
3:30–3:40
Stephen P. Jenkins, stephenj@essex.ac.uk
University of Essex
Philippe Van Kerm, philippe.vankerm@ceps.lu
CEPS/INSTEAD, Luxembourg
3:40–4:10 Coffee/tea
4:10–4:30
Roy Costilla, roycostilla@gmail.com
LLECE/UNESCO, Santiago
4:30–5:30
Yulia Marchenko, ymarchenko@stata.com
StataCorp
5:30 End of formal sessions.
Optional adjournment to pub, followed by dinner at restaurant (at participant’s own cost)

Friday, September 11

9:30–10:00
Tom Palmer, tom.palmer@bristol.ac.uk
University of Bristol
10:00–10:30
Roger B. Newson, r.newson@imperial.ac.uk
Imperial College London
10:30–11:00
Christopher F. Baum, baum@bc.edu
Boston College
Mark E. Schaffer, M.E.Schaffer@hw.ac.uk
Heriot-Watt University
11:00–11:30 Coffee/tea
11:30–1:00
Paul Lambert, paul.lambert@le.ac.uk
University of Leicester
Patrick Royston, pr@ctu.mrc.ac.uk
MRC Clinical Trials Unit, London
1:00–2:00 Lunch
2:00–3:30
Ben Jann, jannb@ethz.ch
ETH, Zurich
3:30–4:00 Coffee/tea
4:00–5:15
Report to users, wishes and grumbles
William Gould, wgould@stata.com
StataCorp
5:15 Close

Registration

Timberlake Consultants generously sponsors registration fee waivers for presentations (only one fee waiver per presentation, regardless of number of authors involved). They will also pay a small fee to a presenter of a longer review or tutorial paper. Click here to register.

By British standards, London is usually relatively dry and warm in September.

For proceedings of previous Stata Users Group meetings, visit www.stata.com/meeting/proceedings.html.

Organizers

Scientific organizers:

Stephen Jenkins
stephenj@essex.ac.uk
Roger Newson
r.newson@imperial.ac.uk

Logistics organizer:

Timberlake Consultants, distributors of Stata in the United Kingdom, Brazil, Ireland, Poland, Portugal, and Spain

Visit the Timberlake website at www.timberlake.co.uk/stata/index.html.

The Stata Blog: Not Elsewhere Classified Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter LinkedIn Google+ Watch us on YouTube