Search
   >> Home >> Resources & support >> Stata Conference DC 09

Stata Conference DC 09


Dates: July 30–31, 2009
Venue: Hotel Monaco, Washington, DC
700 F St. NW
Washington, DC 20004
www.monaco-dc.com
Cost:
  Price Student price
Single day $125 $50
Both days $195 $75
Optional dinner at
Oyamel
$38
(Deadline: July 23, 2009; registration may close early, limited seating available)
Registration is closed; conference is full
Lunch and refreshments are included in the registration fee.

Program announcement

Mark your calendar now for the 2009 Stata Conference in Washington, DC, on July 30 and 31. The conference will be your best chance to meet with other Stata users and your only chance this year to talk with Stata developers at a meeting in the United States.

The Stata Conference is the successor to the North American Users Group meetings and will retain the core of those meetings—presentations by users on a wide range of subjects. The new conference format includes overviews and tutorials presented by StataCorp developers in addition to user contributions. There have been 10 North American meetings in the last 9 years. You can see the programs and proceedings of those meetings at www.stata.com/meeting/proceedings.html.

StataCorp staff attending the conference include developers Bill Gould, President; David Drukker, Director of Econometrics and Jeff Pitblado, Associate Director of Statistical Software and Head of Survey Statistics; and Bill Rising, Director of Educational Services. Logistics organizers Chris Farrar and Gretchen Farrar will also be attending. David Drukker will give two seminars. The first will be on multivariate time series and the second on easy approaches to GMM (generalized method of moments) in Stata. Jeff Pitblado will also be giving two seminars, one involving an overview of survey statistics in Stata and the other detailing how to handle categorical covariates gracefully. Bill Rising will be providing tips and tricks on integrating the Stata interface into your workflow. All members of the Stata team will be available during breaks, lunches, and the optional family-style dinner.

Invited guest Nicholas J. Cox—coeditor of the Stata Journal, author of the column “Speaking Stata”, prolific Stata programmer, and assiduous participant on Statalist—is coming from Durham University, United Kingdom. He will show how to combine text labels and numeric values to produce more informative graphs. You will learn to make Stata graphs you never thought possible.

Michael Lokshin, senior economist at the World Bank, will discuss using Stata in large-scale development and deployment. He will do this in the context of the ADePT (Automated DEC Poverty Tables) system—a program developed by the World Bank and used by researchers in the World Bank as well as several universities and think tanks. (www.worldbank.org/adept/)

The presentations will be organized into several topic sections. One section, being organized by Frauke Kreuter from the Joint Program in Survey Methodology at the University of Maryland and coauthor of the book Data Analysis Using Stata, will include discussions on survey statistics.

Preliminary program

Thursday, July 30, 2009

8:30–9:20
David Drukker, ddrukker@stata.com
StataCorp
9:20–10:10
David Roodman, droodman@cgdev.org
Center for Global Development
10:10–10:25 Coffee break
10:25–11:15
David Drukker, ddrukker@stata.com
StataCorp
11:15–12:05
Jeff Pitblado, jpitblado@stata.com
StataCorp
12:05–1:00 Lunch break
1:00–1:45
Rick Valliant, rvalliant@survey.umd.edu
University of Maryland
1:45–2:30
Brady West, bwest@umich.edu
University of Michigan
2:30–2:45 Coffee break
2:45–3:10
Christopher F. Baum, baum@bc.edu
Boston College
3:10–3:45
Paulo Guimaraes, guimaraes@moore.sc.edu
University of South Carolina
3:45–4:15
Choonjoo Lee, sarang64@snu.ac.kr
Ji Yong-bae, jyb7707@hanmail.net
Korea National Defense University
4:15–4:30 Coffee break
4:30–4:50
Hoa Nguyen, nguye147@msu.edu
Michigan State University
Minh Nguyen, mn7878a@student.american.edu
American University
4:50–5:20
Mei-Ling Ting Lee, mltlee@umd.edu
University of Maryland
5:20–6:00
Austin Nichols, austinnichols@gmail.com
Urban Institute
6:00 Adjourn
7:00 Optional dinner at Oyamel

Friday, July 31, 2009

8:30–9:20
Jeff Pitblado, jpitblado@stata.com
StataCorp
9:20–10:10
Nicholas J. Cox, n.j.cox@durham.ac.uk
Durham University (UK)
10:10–10:25 Coffee break
10:25–11:15
Bill Rising, brising@stata.com
StataCorp
11:15–12:05
Michael Lokshin, mlokshin@worldbank.org
The World Bank
12:05–1:00 Lunch break
1:00–1:20
Masahiko Aida, maida@gqrr.com
Greenberg Quinlan Rosner
1:20–1:45
Chuck Huber, jchuber@srph.tamhsc.edu
Texas A&M Health Science Center School of Rural Public Health
1:45–2:30
Ben Dwamena, bdwamena@umich.edu
University of Michigan
2:30–2:45 Coffee break
2:45–3:15
Stas Kolenikov, kolenikovs@missouri.edu
University of Missouri
3:15–3:35
Martin Weiss, martin.weiss@uni-tuebingen.de
University of Tuebingen (Germany)
3:35–4:00
Sergiy Radyakin, sradyakin@worldbank.org
The World Bank
4:00–4:15 Coffee break
4:15–5:00
Report to users
5:00
Wishes and grumbles: User feedback and Q&A

Registration

Registration is closed; conference is full.

Accommodations

A block of rooms has been reserved for the conference at the Hotel Monaco for July 29–August 1, 2009. The discounted group rate is $209 per night; tax is an additional 14.5%.

To receive the discounted rate, you must call the Hotel Monaco at 877-202-5411 by June 29, 2009, and mention that you are with the Stata Conference.

Hotel details

Hotel Monaco, Washington, DC
700 F Street NW
Washington, DC 20004
Reservations 877-202-5411
Hotel 202-628-7177
Fax 202-628-7277

Special needs

If you have any special needs (vegetarian, handicapped, etc.), please contact Chris Farrar, cfarrar@stata.com, or Gretchen Farrar, gfarrar@stata.com.

Organizers

Please feel free to contact the organizers with any questions.

Scientific committee

In addition to serving as chair of the Scientific Committee, Austin Nichols of the Urban Institute and author of the forthcoming Stata Press book tentatively titled Causal Inference: Measuring the Effect of x on y has been invited by StataCorp to give a presentation on causal inference with observational data.

Logistics organizers

Go to www.stata.com/alerts/ and check the box for “Stata Conferences and Users Group meetings” to receive updates about the conference and to be notified when the program is finalized.

The Stata Blog: Not Elsewhere Classified Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter LinkedIn Google+ Watch us on YouTube