Search
   >> Home >> Resources & support >> Users Group meetings >> 2007 North American meeting

2007 North American Stata Users Group meeting


Boston Public Garden
Dates: August 13–14, 2007
Organizers: Kit Baum, baum@bc.edu
Marcello Pagano, pagano@hsph.harvard.edu
Nicholas Horton, nhorton@email.smith.edu
Venue: Longwood Galleria Conference Center
342 Longwood Ave.
Boston, MA 02115-5745
Price:
  Price Student price
Day 1: Users Group meeting $85 $35
Day 2: Invited presentations $95 $35
Both days: Users Group meeting and
invited presentations
$150 $50
Day 1: Optional dinner (additional cost)
at The Elephant Walk
(French and Cambodian cuisine)
$35 $35

Program announcement

The sixth North American Stata Users Group meeting will be held on August 13–14, 2007, in Boston, Massachusetts, at the Longwood Galleria Conference Center.

The first day of the meeting, which will showcase user presentations, is being organized by a committee cochaired by Kit Baum and Marcello Pagano with assistance from Nicholas Horton.

No level of sophistication is assumed for presenters or attendees. Most of the contributed talks in past NASUG programs have been accessible to those with any level of prior experience with Stata, and all have been illuminating. We hope you will consider joining the meetings, as a presenter or an attendee.

The first day of the meeting will feature 10- to 30-minute talks on a range of subjects, as well as the ever-popular “Wishes and Grumbles” session. This year will include a new “Stump the champs” session where you can address thorny questions to a panel of experts, both longtime users and StataCorp staff.

The second day day of the program will feature four invited talks, including two on new features in Stata 10.

Program

Day 1: Monday, August 13, 2007

08:30–09:00 Registration and coffee/tea
09:00–10:30 Session 1
 
Nicholas J. Cox, n.j.cox@durham.ac.uk
Durham University
 
Stanislav Kolenikov, kolenikovs@missouri.edu
University of Missouri, Columbia
 
P. Wilner Jeanty, jeanty.1@osu.edu
Ohio State University
10:30–11:00 Break
11:00–12:15 Session 2
 
Nicholas Jon Horton, nhorton@email.smith.edu
Smith College
 
Michael Hanson, mshanson@wesleyan.edu
Yingzhe Zhao
Wesleyan University
 
Ben Jann, jann@soz.gess.ethz.ch
ETH Zürich
12:15–01:30 Lunch
01:30–02:45 Session 3
 
Christopher Baum, baum@bc.edu
Boston College, DIW Berlin, and RePEc
 
Ben Dwamena, bdwamena@umich.edu
University of Michigan Health System, Ann Arbor
 
Michael Blasnik, michael.blasnik@verizon.net
M. Blasnik & Associates
02:45–03:30 Session 4
 
Stump the champs
Panel of experts
03:30–04:00 Break
04:00–05:30 Session 5
 
Report to users/Wishes and grumbles
Roberto G. Gutierrez, r.gutierrez@stata.com
StataCorp
07:30 Optional dinner (additional cost) at The Elephant Walk

Day 2: Tuesday, August 14

09:00–10:15
Austin Nichols, anichols@ui.urban.org
Urban Institute
10:15–10:45 Break
10:45–12:00
Roberto G. Gutierrez, rgutierrez@stata.com
StataCorp
12:00–01:30 Lunch
01:30–02:45
Ben Jann, jann@soz.gess.ethz.ch
ETH Zürich
02:45–03:15 Break
03:15–04:30
Yulia Marchenko, ymarchenko@stata.com
StataCorp

Registration details

You may attend the meeting for one or both days, with a reduced rate for two-day attendance and an attractive student rate. Lunch and refreshments are included. Presenters’ registration fees are waived. We will return to one of Boston’s most interesting restaurants—The Elephant Walk—for the conference dinner on Monday night. Details about accommodations are available below.

The deadline for meeting registration is August 3, 2007.

Boston’s weather in August is warm and muggy, but still cooler than that of College Station, TX. The Red Sox will be playing Tampa Bay on Monday and Tuesday nights just a few blocks from the conference venue.

Previous Stata Users Group meetings have been held in Boston (2001, 2003–2006), Australia, Britain, Ireland, Italy, Spain, Germany, Sweden, and The Netherlands. Anyone interested in Stata, regardless of level of expertise or geographic location, is invited to attend.

Accommodations

The North American Users Group meeting will be held on August 13–14, 2007, at

Longwood Galleria Conference Center
342 Longwood Ave.
Boston, MA 02115-5745

A block of rooms has been reserved for StataCorp at the Best Western Inn at Longwood for August 12–14, 2007. The discounted group rate is $169.00 per night. Tax is 12.45% for 1–4 people. The last day to make a reservation at the discounted rate is July 20, 2007.

To reserve a room, call Best Western Inn at Longwood direct and ask for in-house reservations. Please refer to the StataCorp Sixth North American Stata Users Group meeting.

Hotel details:

Best Western Boston Inn at Longwood
342 Longwood Ave., Boston, MA 02115-5745
Main phone number: 617-731-4700 or 800-468-2378
Fax number: 617-731-4870
Check in time: 3 PM
Check out time: Noon
Parking: $16.00 per day until noon on day of departure
Smoke-free hotel
www.innatlongwood.com

Special needs:

If you have any special needs (vegetarian, handicapped, etc.), please contact Chris Farrar, cfarrar@stata.com, or Gretchen Farrar, gfarrar@stata.com.

Boston Public Garden

Please feel free to contact the organizers with any questions.

The North American Stata Users Group Meeting Organizing Committee

Kit Baum
Boston College and RePEc
baum@bc.edu
Marcello Pagano
Harvard School of Public Health
pagano@hsph.harvard.edu
Nicholas Horton
Department of Mathematics and Statistics, Smith College
nhorton@email.smith.edu

Logistics organizers

Chris Farrar
StataCorp LP
cfarrar@stata.com
Gretchen Farrar
StataCorp LP
gfarrar@stata.com
The Stata Blog: Not Elsewhere Classified Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter LinkedIn Google+ Watch us on YouTube