Search
   >> Home >> Resources & support >> User Group meetings >> 2007 German Stata Users Group meeting

2007 German Stata Users Group meeting

Program announcement

The fifth German Stata Users Group meeting will be held at the RWI Essen (Rheinisch Westfälisches Institut, http://www.rwi-essen.de) on Monday, April 2, 2007. Anyone interested in Stata is invited to attend.

The meeting will feature user presentations on a broad range of topics, such as Stata programming, data management, graphics, and statistical analysis. Topics include

  • user-written Stata programs,
  • case studies of research or teaching using Stata,
  • discussions of data management problems,
  • reviews of analytical issues, and
  • surveys or critiques of Stata facilities in specific fields.

The conference language will be English because of the international nature of the meeting and the participation of non-German guest speakers.

Program

8:30–9:00 Reception
9:00–9:10 Welcome
9:10–9:50
Kit Baum, baum@bc.edu
Boston College Economics
9:50–10:30
Ben Jann, ben.jann@gmail.com
ETH Zurich
10:30–10:45 Coffee
10:45–11:15
Maarten L. Buis, m.buis@fsw.vu.nl
Vrije Universitat Amsterdam
11:15–11:45
Anika Buchholz
University of Freiburg
Willi Sauerbrei
University Medical Center Freiburg
Patric Royston
MRC Clinical Trials Unit, London
11:45–12:15
Matthias Sinning, sinning@rwi-essen.de
Markus Hahn, hahn@rwi-essen.de
RWI Essen, University of Bochum
12:15–13:15 Lunch
13:15–13:45
Julian A. Fennema, j.a.fennema@hw.ac.uk
Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh
13:45–14:15
Andreas Peichl, a.peichl@uni-koeln.de
University of Cologne
14:15–14:45
Philippe Van Kerm, philippe.vankerm@ceps.lu
CEPS/INSTEAD, Luxembourg
14:45–15:00 Coffee
15:00–15:25
Markus Hahn, hahn@rwi-essen.de
RWI Essen and University of Bochum
15:25–15:50
John P. Haisken-DeNew, jhaiskendenew@rwi-essen.de
RWI Essen
15:50–16:15
Bojan Todosijevic, b.todosijevic@utwente.nl
University of Twente
16:15–16:30 Coffee
16:30–17:00
Peter Jacobebbinghaus, peter.jacobebbinghaus@iab.de
IAB
17:00–17:30
Report to users
Bill Rising, brising@stata.com
StataCorp
17:30–18:00
Wishes and grumbles

See http://www.stata.com/meeting/proceedings.html for the proceedings of other Stata Users Group meetings.

Date:
Monday, April 2, 2007
Venue: RWI Essen
Hohenzollernstr. 1-3
45128 Essen
Tel: +49-201-8149-280
Fax: +49-201-8149-236
Cost: €25, regular
€10, student
€20, optional meal

Photo: Essen
Entrance to Isenburg in Essen, Germany

Enrollment

You can enroll by contacting Anke Mrosek (anke.mrosek@dpc.de) by email or by writing, phoning, or faxing

Anke Mrosek
Dittrich & Partner Consulting GmbH
Kieler Str. 17
42697 Solingen

Tel: +49 (0) 212 260 66-24
Fax:+49 (0) 212 260 66-66

Accommodations and fees

Participants travel at their own expense. There will be a small conference fee (regular €25, students €10) to cover costs for coffee, tea, and luncheons. There will also be an optional informal meal at a restaurant in Essen on Monday evening for an additional cost of €20.

Hotel: Hotel Mercure Plaza Essen
(2-minute walk to RWI Essen)
Bismarkstr. 48-50
45128 Essen
Tel: +49-201-87858-0
Fax: +49-201-87858-700

There is a contingent of 30 rooms:

Mention “RWI Essen” when making your reservation. Please contact the Mercure directly for more information.

For a map, click here.

Alternate Hotel: Sheraton Essen Hotel
Huyssenallee 55
Essen 45128
Tel: +49-201-10070

For those wishing to make other arrangements for (upscale) hotels, there is the Sheraton Hotel, which is also a 2-minute walk to the RWI Essen. (This is the same hotel where the American soccer team stayed during the World Cup.) Please contact the Sheraton directly for cost/reservation information.

For a map, click here.

Organizers

The academic program of the meeting is being organized by

Johannes Giesecke, University of Mannheim
giesecke@rumms.uni-mannheim.de

John P. Haisken-DeNew, RWI Essen
jhaiskendenew@rwi-essen.de

Ulrich Kohler, WZB
kohler@wzb.eu

The logistics are being organized by Dittrich and Partner (http://www.dpc.de), the distributor of Stata in several countries, including Germany, The Netherlands, Austria, and Poland.

The Stata Blog: Not Elsewhere Classified Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter LinkedIn Google+ Watch us on YouTube