Search
   >> Home >> Resources & support >> Users Group meetings >> 1st Australian & New Zealand meeting

1st Australian and New Zealand meeting

Rotunda on the Torrens River
Photo used with permission of the Adelaide City Council
www.adelaidecitycouncil.com

Date: Sunday, October 10, 2004
 
Venue: Holiday Inn
65 Hindley Street
Adelaide, South Australia
 
Program: See below.
 
Cost: $A 150 (includes GST)
  Register online (SAPMEA)

The first Australian and New Zealand Stata Users Group meeting will be held on October 10, 2004 in Adelaide, South Australia, at the Holiday Inn on Hindley.

The inaugural meeting of Stata users in Australia is being held in conjunction with the 2004 annual meeting of the Australian Epidemiological Association (www.sapmea.asn.au/aea2004). However, the Stata Users Group meeting is not directed solely at epidemiologists and biostatisticians; Stata users from all disciplines are invited to attend. Beginners, experts, and anyone in between are welcome.

This meeting will follow a format similar to that of a number of Stata Users Group meetings held in Europe and the United States. The aim is to bring together a wide range of users to discuss statistical analysis, data management, and graphics using Stata. Speakers are encouraged to present their experiences with the package, whether using standard commands, writing new programs, or exploiting the new graphics facilities.

Provisional program

(Click on the title to view the abstract and additional information.)

Session 1: General

09:10 Programming for further processing of postestimation results
Ian Watson, i.watson@econ.usyd.edu.au
Australian Centre for Industrial Relations Research and Training, University of Sydney
09:30 Austrlia's firm-level productivity — a new perspective
Robert Breunig, robert.breunig@anu.edu.au
Research School of Social Sciences, Australian National University
Marn–Heong Wong, wmhoz@yahoo.com.sg
Australia–Japan Research Centre, Australian National University
09:50 Simulating two- and three-generation pedigree data for genetic epidemiology research
Jisheng S. Cui, jisheng.cui@csiro.au
Department of Public Health, University of Melbourne, and
Mathematical and Information Sciences Division, Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization, Clayton, Victoria
10:10 Modeling intensive care unit outcome in a large data base: analysis of the institutional effect
John Moran, john.moran@nwahs.sa.gov.au
ANZICS Adult Data Base Committee, Carlton Victoria
P. Bristow, N. Bishop, and C. George
School of Applied Mathematics, University of Adelaide
10:30 Generalized partially linear models
Roberto Gutierrez, rgutierrez@stata.com
StataCorp
11:00 Morning tea

Session 2: Focus on missingness

11:30 The effect of missing data on covariates in survival analysis
Irit Aitkin
Department of Psychology, University of Melbourne
11:50 Tools for using multiple imputation for missing data in Stata
John Carlin, jbcarlin@unimelb.edu.au
Philip Greenwood, John Galati, Joe Schafer
Departments of Paediatrics and Public Health, University of Melbourne, and Murdoch Childrens Research Institute, Melbourne
12:05 Analyzing multiply imputed datasets: separate or stacked
Philip Greenwood, philip.greenwood@mcri.edu.au
Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics Unit, Murdoch Childrens Research Institute, Melbourne
12:25 Using plugins and COM servers in Stata for handling multiple datasets
John Galati, john.galati@mcri.edu.au
Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics Unit, Murdoch Childrens Research Institute, Melbourne
12:45 Lunch

Session 3: Briefly, From the Floor...

13:45 Open discussion on tips and techniques

Session 4: Mainly Epidemiology...

14:00 Propensity score matching using -psmatch-
Adrian Esterman, adrian.esterman@flinders.edu.au
Flinders Centre for Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Flinders University, Adelaide
14:40 Simulating a control pool to economize control recruitment in a matched case–control study
Rory Wolfe, rory.wolfe@med.monash.edu.au
Monash University, Melbourne
15:00 Risk ratio estimation with the logistic model
Leigh Blizzard, leigh.blizzard@utas.edu.au
Menzies Research Institute, University of Tasmania
David W. Hosmer
School of Public Health and Health Sciences, University of Massachusetts
15:15 Afternoon tea

Session 5: StataCorp and Stata Users

15:45 Report to users
William Gould
StataCorp
16:30 Wishes and grumbles
17:15 Close
TBA Optional dinner (time/venue TBA)

Registration and accommodations

The cost to attend is $A150 (includes GST). This fee covers lunch and refreshments. An optional dinner, at extra cost, will be held on Sunday evening at a restaurant to be named at a later date.

The meeting is being organized by South Australian Postgraduate Medical Education Association Inc. (SAPMEA) Conventions (www.sapmea.asn.au) in collaboration with the organizing committee and the Australian distributor of Stata, Survey Design and Analysis Services (survey-design.com.au).

The meeting will be held at

Holiday Inn
65 Hindley Street
Adelaide, South Australia

Please contact SAPMEA's website (www.sapmea.asn.au/conventions/stata04) for details on registration and for help with accommodation.

St. Peters Cathedral
Photo used with permission of the Adelaide City Council
www.adelaidecitycouncil.com

The organizers thank Survey Design and Analysis Services for financial support.


The Australian and New Zealand Stata Users Group Meeting Organizing Committee
 
John Carlin
jbcarlin@unimelb.edu.au
Dept of Pediatrics and Public Health, University of Melbourne
Director of CEBU, Murdoch Children's Research Institute, Royal Children's Hospital
Claire Rickards
crickards@sapmea.asn.au
Assistant Convention Manager
SAPMEA
 
Adrian Esterman
adrian.esterman@flinders.edu.au
Senior Research Fellow, Flinders Centre for Epidemiology & Biostatistics
Flinders University
Malcolm Rosier
rosier@tpg.com.au
Survey Design and Analysis Services Pty Ltd
 
Paul Hakendorf
paul.hakendorf@flinders.edu.au
School of Medicine, General Practice
Flinders University
Philip Ryan
philip.ryan@adelaide.edu.au
Associate Professor, Dept of Public Health
Asociate Dean (IT), Faculty of Health Services
University of Adelaide
 
Karl Keesman
keesman@tpg.com.au
Managing Director
Survey Design and Analysis Services Pty Ltd
Steven Stillman
steven@thestillmans.org
Senior Research Economist, Labor Market Policy Group
New Zealand Department of Labour
The Stata Blog: Not Elsewhere Classified Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter LinkedIn Google+ Watch us on YouTube