Search
   >> Home >> Resources & support >> Users Group meetings >> Proceedings >> 10th UK Stata Users Group meeting

10th UK Stata Users Group meeting

The London Stata Users Group meeting is celebrating its 10th anniversary in 2004. We are marking the event by making the presentations even more useful to those who attend. We will be including in this meeting survey lectures from Stata users of international repute and from senior members of StataCorp — the developers of Stata — aimed at addressing fields where Stata is particularly useful.

In the previous nine years, we have established a tradition of excellent presentations by users, and we have fostered contacts among researchers who use Stata, expert users who extend and further develop Stata, and developers at StataCorp.

Stata users' meetings began in London, and as many have been held here as in the rest of the world combined. (Other users' meetings have been held in Berlin, Boston, Córdoba, Dublin, Maastricht, Madrid, and Utrecht. Yet others are scheduled for Rotterdam and Adelaide.)

Part of the reason for our success is the openness of the meetings. All are welcome to attend and participate. You are invited whether or not you have attended previously and wherever you reside. In past years, we have had attendees not only from Britain, Ireland, and other European countries, but also from the USA, Australia, New Zealand, and elsewhere.

Dates: Monday 28 and Tuesday 29 June 2004
 
Venue: Centre for Econometric Analysis
Cass Business School
106 Bunhill Row
London     EC1Y 8TZ
United Kingdom
 
Cost: £65 + vat = £76.38
Register online (Timberlake Consultants)

 

Londong Tower Bridge
Tower Bridge
© www.FreeFoto.com

Registration and accommodations

The logistics of the conference are being organized by Timberlake Consultants, distributors of Stata in several countries, including the UK and Ireland. You can register online at

http://www.timberlake.co.uk/stataug.html

or by contacting Timberlake Consultants directly by email: statauk@timberlake.co.uk, tel: +44 20 86973377, or fax: +44 20 86973388. Timberlake Consultants can also help you find accommodation in London.

There will be a small conference fee (£65 + vat = £76.38) to cover costs for coffee, tea, and luncheons. An invoice will be sent to you only when the program for the conference becomes available.

 

The UK Stata Users Group
Meeting Organizers

Nicholas J. Cox
n.j.cox@durham.ac.uk
Department of Geography
Durham University, UK
Patrick Royston
Patrick.Royston@ctu.mrc.ac.uk
Cancer Division
MRC Clinical Trials Unit
Big Ben
Big Ben
© www.FreeFoto.com

Program

Monday 28th June

0930 Analyzing linked employer–employee data with Stata
Richard Upward, richard.upward@nottingham.ac.uk
School of Economics, University of Nottingham
0955 Approximating the bias of the LSDV estimator for dynamic panel data models
Giovanni S.F. Bruno, giovanni.bruno@unibocconi.it
Università Commerciale Luigi Bocconi, Milano
1020 Multiple imputation of missing data: an implementation of van Buuren's MICE, and more
Patrick Royston, patrick.royston@ctu.mrc.ac.uk
MRC Clinical Trials Unit, London
1045 Smooth hazard functions for survival time data
Margaret May, m.t.may@bristol.ac.uk
Department of Social Medicine, University of Bristol
1100 Coffee/Tea
1130 A new Stata command for estimating confidence intervals for the variance component of random-effects linear models
Matteo Bottai, mbottai@gwm.sc.edu
Arnold School of Public Health, University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC and Institute of Information Science and Technology, National Research Council, Pisa
Nicola Orsini, Nicola.Orsini@imm.ki.se
Institute of Information Science and Technology, National Research Council, Pisa and Institute of Environmental Medicine, Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm
1145 A comment on infrequency of purchase models in Stata
Julian A. Fennema, j.a.fennema@hw.ac.uk
Centre for Economic Reform and Transformation, Heriot-Watt University
1200 Topics in time series regression modeling (Survey lecture)
Christopher F. Baum, baum@bc.edu
Department of Economics, Boston College, Chestnut Hill, MA
1300 Lunch
1400 Stata graphics, under the hood (Survey lecture)
Vince Wiggins, vwiggins@stata.com
StataCorp, College Station, TX
1515 Tea/Coffee
1545 Separation brings analysts and their graphs together
Matthew Barnes, Matthew.Barnes@ons.gsi.gov.uk
Office for National Statistics, London
1600 Circular statistics in Stata, revisited
Nicholas J. Cox, n.j.cox@durham.ac.uk
Department of Geography, University of Durham
1625 Biplots, revisted
Ulrich Kohler, kohler@wz-berlin.de
WZB, Berlin
1700 Close

Tuesday 29th June

0930 Tabulation of multiple responses
Ben Jann, ben.jann@soz.gess.ethz.ch
Soziologie, ETH Zürich
0955 Controlling for time-dependent confounding using marginal structural models
Zoe Fewell, Zoe.Fewell@bristol.ac.uk
Department of Social Medicine, University of Bristol
M. A. Hernán
Harvard School of Public Health
F. Wolfe
National Data Bank for Rheumatic Diseases, USA
K. Tilling
Department of Social Medicine, University of Bristol
H. Choi
Harvard Medical School
J. A. C. Sterne
Department of Social Medicine, University of Bristol
1015 Meta-analysis in Stata: history, progress and prospects
Jonathan Sterne, Jonathan.Sterne@bristol.ac.uk
Department of Social Medicine, University of Bristol
1115 Coffee/Tea
1145 Compliance-adjusted intervention effects in survival data
Lois G. Kim, lois.kim@mrc-bsu.cam.ac.uk
MRC Biostatistics Unit, Cambridge
Ian R. White
MRC Biostatistics Unit, Cambridge
1200 From datasets to resultssets in Stata (Survey lecture)
Roger Newson, roger.newson@kcl.ac.uk
Department of Public Health Sciences, King's College, London
1300 Lunch
1400 Applying the Cox proportional hazards regression model to competing risks
Abdel G. A. Babiker, abdel.babiker@ctu.mrc.ac.uk
MRC Clinical Trials Unit, London
Mohamed M. Ali, alim@who.int
RHR/WHO, Geneva
1425 Genome-wide linkage scans and basic bioinformatics implemented using Stata/SE
Toby Andrew, toby.andrew@kcl.ac.uk
Twin and Genetic Epidemiology Research Unit, Department of Medicine, St Thomas' Hospital
1450 Evaluation of diagnostic tests for diseases in pregnancy: some statistical issues
Paul T. Seed, paul.seed@kcl.ac.uk
Dept of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, GKT School of Medicine, King's College, London
1515 Tea/coffee
1545 Report to users and Wishes and grumbles
William W. Gould, wgould@stata.com
StataCorp, College Station, TX
1715 Close

An optional, informal meal will be held at a London restaurant on Monday evening. There is an extra cost for attending the dinner.

See www.stata.com/meeting/proceedings.html for the proceedings of other user group meetings.

The Stata Blog: Not Elsewhere Classified Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter LinkedIn Google+ Watch us on YouTube